Report any gender-based violence related incidents to the following numbers | 021 959 6550 | 021 959 6301 | 060 980 0286

For more information   Click here >>>

CPUT Research Chairs

The Research Chair initiative is one of the strongest programmatic and practical intervention strategies for breakthrough improvement in research at Cape Peninsula University of Technology. The Research Chair initiative conducts national/internationally recognised research of standing in a field related to the CPUT research focus areas. The aim of the initiative is to drive the research agenda through masters and doctoral supervision, research publications, and grant funding for research activities and conferences. Research chairs report to the DVC: RTIP through the Director, Strategic Initiatives, and Partnerships (SIP). Ideally, a research chair will head or at least be linked to a research entity and the work will align to a research focus area and its subsequent research niche areas.

CPUT hosts 11 Research Chairs; i.e. four DSI-NRF-Funded, six CPUT-Funded, and one SETA-Funded. We continuously strive to source funding to increase the number of research chairs within the university, given the high-value proposition they present and the contribution they make to our quest towards mode 2 and mode 3 knowledge production that is relevant and responsive to societal needs.

 

DSI-NRF South African Research Chair Initiative (SARChI)

FACULTY RESEARCH CHAIR TITLE RESEARCH CHAIR

Faculty of Education

Work Integrated

Learning

Prof Christine Winberg (Tier 2) - NRF C2 rated

winbergc@cput.ac.za

Faculty of Education

Teacher Education

Prof Yusuf Sayed (Tier 1)

sayedy@cput.ac.za   

Faculty of Health and Wellness Sciences

Cardiometabolic Health

Prof Tandi Matsha-Erasmus (Tier 2) -  NRF C1 rated

matshat@cput.ac.za

Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

Innovative Small Satellite Technology and Applications for Africa (ISSTAA)

In progress (Tier 2)

CPUT-Funded Research Chairs

FACULTY RESEARCH CHAIR TITLE RESEARCH CHAIR

Faculty of Health and Wellness Sciences

Biotechnology

Prof Jeanine Marnewick - NRF C1 rated

marnewickj@cput.ac.za

Faculty of Applied Sciences

Oceans Economy

Prof Kenneth Findlay - NRF C1 rated

findlayk@cput.ac.za

Faculty of Informatics and Design

Innovation in Society

(Service Design)

In progress

Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

Energy

Prof Tariq Mahomed Kahn

KhanT@cput.ac.za

Faculty of Education

Literacy Development

Prof Janet Condy - NRF C2 rated

condyj@cput.ac.za

Faculty of Business and Management Sciences

Sustainable Tourism and Global Change

In progress

SETA-Funded Research Chair

  RESEARCH CHAIR TITLE RESEARCH CHAIR

 

Work Integrated Learning

Prof Nothemba Joyce Nduna (ETDP SETA)

ndunaj@cput.ac.za

 

 Contact: Ms Hunadi Mokgalaka, Manager Research Uptake - mokgalakah@cput.ac.za