Eligible staff please register here >>>


A development engineer who recently recovered from Covid-19 is a member of the CPUT team competing in this year’s Absa Cape Epic, known as the biggest full-service mountain bike stage race in the world.

Friday, 08 October 2021

Eat more fruit and veg

Students are being encouraged to add more fruit and vegetables to their daily diet.

Defending champions FNB CPUT will go head to head with FNB WSU (Walter Sisulu University) in what promises to be an epic Varsity Shield final.

Thursday, 22 April 2021

CPUT thumps TUT in Varsity Shield

The defending champions dealt a huge blow to the FNB TUT Vikings’s unbeaten run in the 2021 Varsity Shield rugby tournament this week.

FNB CPUT continued its dominance of the tournament as they beat the Vikings 54 – 20 to seal their position at the top of the tournament’s log. The clash between the two unbeaten sides saw FNB CPUT dominating proceedings throughout the match. The boys from the peninsula attacked the gain line at will and in the process stifled the majority of the opponents’ attempts on attack. 

In the first half hooker Siyasanga “Carburettor” Ngubelanga bagged a brace of tries and eightman Sesona Macala, flank Ché Klaasen and wings  Asisipho Malotana  and Nathan Nkutu also crossed the line to record a bonus point for FNB CPUT before half-time. At half-time the score was 37 -6 in favour of the defending champions.

In the second half FNB TUT came stronger as FNB CPUT took a while to get back into the swing of things but it was not long before Sesona and Anenceba Salman scored more tries which were successfully converted by Feghon-Leigh Snyders and replacement utility back Imibongo Vabaza. 

Sesona was voted the FNB Player that Rocks at the end of the match.

Thursday, 22 April 2021

Know Your CPUT: Wellington Campus

In the centre of Wellington is the picturesque CPUT Wellington Campus with beautiful historic buildings which were built in the 1800s.

The campus offers courses such as Agriculture in the Faculty of Applied Sciences and a range of courses in the Faculties of Business and Management Sciences as well as Education. This campus is the only site where CPUT offers Education courses in Afrikaans.

The Education Faculty is renowned for its excellent curriculum and high training standards and was awarded the Medal of Honour by the South African Teachers Union in recognition of its superb training of teachers to the benefit of the Afrikaans speaking community.

The faculty has the largest presence on the campus, with more than 1 000 Bachelor of Education students who are enrolled.

The Department of Agriculture, which offers a qualification in Viticulture and Oenology, affords students access to an experimental wine cellar and to a state-of-the-art Agriculture Facility called the Agri-Hub which boasts modern lecture rooms, conference facilities, laboratories and greenhouses..

The vibrant student community on the Wellington Campus also participates in a range of sporting activities as well as community engagement programmes, that vary from tutoring learners at rural schools to facilitating sport and art programmes in impoverished communities in the Boland region.

The dedicated staff members and a distinctive style of training ensures that the campus remains one of the most popular choices for students who want to pursue careers in teaching, agriculture and business.

For a map of the campus please visit


Ten tries against Rhodes University scored FNB CPUT a win during their second match of the Varsity Shield tournament.  

Not even Gauteng lightening could stop the defending the Varsity Shield’s champions from defeating FNB Rhodes University at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium as they won 68 against eight.  

The boys were rampant in their set play as the Rhodents just could not match their physicality or rush defence and they often found themselves losing the ball recklessly.

FNB CPUT was leading with 21 points against eight at half-time after scoring three

 tries, thanks to a brace by centre Bjorkan Hendricks and lock Joshua Paris. Flyhalf Imibongo Mgijima converted all the tries.

Overall CPUT tries were scored by Björkan Hendricks (2), Joshua Paris, Onika Mgijima, Hughwan Engelbrecht, Phumlani Mkhaliphi, Asisipho Malotana (2) and Imibongo Vabaza, Butsha Mputa.

Imibongo successfully converted nine tries and deservedly was voted the FNB Player that Rocks.

Resting on the historic slopes of District Six, the former Cape Town Campus was renamed to the District Six (D6) Campus and is located close to the city’s most notable landmark, the Table Mountain. 

The campus is home to the Faculty of Business and Management, the largest faculty at CPUT, and the Faculty of Informatics and Design. Various courses from the Faculties of Applied Sciences a well as Health and Wellness Sciences are also offered here.

The campus boasts state-of-the-art academic facilities such as a library, computer labs and a branch of the Disability Unit. A stone's throw away from the campus is the Centre for E-Learning.

Student gatherings and entertainment events hosted by the Department of Student Affairs are held in the amphitheater. There is also a large Student Centre which offers staff and students various places to sit and eat.

Visitors’ and student parking is available while staff members must register for paid open and undercover parking annually. Those using public transport have the benefit of using the MyCiti service which has a bus stop right on the campus' doorstep..

Apart from the six main campuses in Bellville, Cape Town, Wellington, Mowbray, Athlone and Granger Bay, CPUT also has a number of satellite campuses across the city.

These include Tygerberg Hospital, Groote Schuur, the Media City building on the Foreshore and Roeland Street, which is a few minutes from the D6 Campus.

Media City houses the Architecture and Interior Design schools while Tygerberg Hospital hosts Dental Technology and Emergency Medical Care students.


The Radiography Department is the only one located at the Groote Schuur satellite campus and Roeland Street houses the Media School which includes Journalism, Photography, Public Relations and Multimedia.

Page 1 of 24