Please report any known incidents to the following numbers | 021 959 6550 | 021 959 6301 | 060 980 0286

Engineering & the Built Environment

UPDATE: The following qualifications have recently been approved, and are available for Applications for 2020:

Diplomas (replacing the National Diplomas):

  • Diploma in Engineering Technology in Computer Engineering - Replacing ND: Computer Systems

Bachelors (New qualifications):

  • Bachelor of Geomatics - New qualification
  • Bachelor of Nautical Science - Replacing ND: Maritime Studies

Advanced Diplomas (replacing the BTech):

  • Advanced Diploma in Construction Health & Safety - Replacing BTech: Construction Management (Health & Safety)
  • Advanced Diploma in Civil Engineering - Replacing BTech: Civil Engineering
  • Advanced Diploma in Mechanical Engineering - Replacing BTech: Mechanical Engineering
  • Advanced Diploma in Mechanical Engineering in Mechatronics - Replacing BTech: Mechanical Engineering (Mechatronics)
  • Advanced Diploma in Quantity Surveying - Replacing BTech: Quantity Surveying
  • Advanced Diploma in Industrial Engineering - Replacing BTech: Industrial Engineering

Masters Degrees (replacing the MTech):

  • Master of Engineering in Energy (Coursework) Replacing MTech: Electrical Engineering (Energy)

If a qualification that you would like to study does not appear, then please check the website regularly for additional approved qualifications, or email your name, cellphone number, and qualification you are interested in studying to the department (details below) for more info.

CPUT is in the process of starting new qualifications (such as the new Bachelor of Engineering Technology) and phasing-in / phasing-out old ones (such as the Diploma replacing the National Diploma, and the Advanced Diploma replacing the BTech), as required by the South African Department of Education. The new qualifications are introduced to align with the new Higher Education qualification sub-Framework (HEQSF) as Gazetted by the South African Department of Education on 2 August 2013. This is a requirement placed on all Higher Education institutions in the attempt to keep the curriculum relevant.

The last year Universities are allowed to register new students for the old qualifications is 2019, but students who are busy with the qualifications will be allowed enough time to finish. See the Engineering webpage (http://www.cput.ac.za/academic/faculties/engineering) for letters giving more information about the phasing-out and phasing-in plans for each department, giving valuable information about how the phase-out will be handled.

Some qualifications have already been approved, but some are in the final stages of approval, and will be loaded onto the Applications System as soon as they are fully approved. Qualifications at CPUT have been widely benchmarked nationally and internationally.

Contact Details:

Chemical Engineering

- Chemical Engineering

- Academic
- Admin
- Admin

Ms Ashleen Marshall
Ms Siyasanga Nqwazi
Ms Elizma Alberts

MarshallA@cput.ac.za
NqwaziS@cput.ac.za
VanWykE@cput.ac.za

Civil Engineering & Surveying

- Civil Engineering
- Geomatics (Surveying and Cartography)

Mr Crispen Mutsvangwa
Dr Siddique Motala

MutsvangwaC@cput.ac.za
MotalaS@cput.ac.za

Clothing & Textile Technology

- Clothing & Textile Technology

Dr Asis Patnaik
Ms Charlene Parenzee

PatnaikA@cput.ac.za
ParenzeeC@cput.ac.za

Construction Management & Quantity Surveying

- Facility Management - Academic
- Admin
- Admin
Dr Fred Simpeh
Ms Nonyaniso Didiza
Ms Charlene Daniels
SimpehF@cput.ac.za
DidizaN@cput.ac.za
DanielsCh@cput.ac.za
- Construction Health & Safety - Academic
- Admin
- Admin
Mr Luviwe Bikitsha
Ms Nonyaniso Didiza
Ms Charlene Daniels
BikitshaL@cput.ac.za
DidizaN@cput.ac.za
DanielsCh@cput.ac.za
- Construction Management - Academic
- Admin
- Admin
Mr Lance Wentzel
Ms Nonyaniso Didiza
Ms Charlene Daniels
WentzelL@cput.ac.za
DidizaN@cput.ac.za
DanielsCh@cput.ac.za
- Quantity Surveying - Academic
- Admin
- Admin
Mr Magmoed Laatoe
Ms Nonyaniso Didiza
Ms Charlene Daniels
LaatoeM@cput.ac.za
DidizaN@cput.ac.za
DanielsCh@cput.ac.za

Electrical, Electronic & Computer Engineering

- Electrical Engineering & Computer Engineering

Mr Dave Callaghan
Mr Ben Groenewald

CallaghanD@cput.ac.za
GroenewaldB@cput.ac.za

Industrial & Systems Engineering

- Industrial Engineering
- Quality

Mr Bharet Morar
Ms Lucretia Valentine

MorarB@cput.ac.za
ValentineL@cput.ac.za

Mechanical Engineering

- Mechanical Engineering

- Mechatronics

Dr Ali Rugbani
Mr Cletus Magoda
Mr Olukayode Ayodele

RugbaniA@cput.ac.za
MagodaC@cput.ac.za
AyodeleO@cput.ac.za

Maritime Studies

- Maritime Studies & Nautical Science

- Academic
- Admin
- Admin

Ms Leonie Louw
Ms Melanie Frieslich
Ms Nomvuyo Nkani

LouwL@cput.ac.za
FrieslichM@cput.ac.za
NkaniN@cput.ac.za

- Marine Engineering

- Academic
- Academic
- Academic
- Academic
- Admin

Mr Derek Lambert
Mr Butteur Ntamba-Ntamba
Ms Ekaterina Rzyankina
Ms Leonie Louw
Ms Melanie Frieslich

LambertD@cput.ac.za
NtambaNtambaB@cput.ac.za
RzyankinaE@cput.ac.za
LouwL@cput.ac.za
FrieslichM@cput.ac.za


Below are letters giving more information about the phasing-out of the National Diplomas, and phasing-in of the new Diplomas for each department, giving valuable information about how the phase-out will be handled.

For more information about the new qualifications, go to the "New Qualifications" page on the Engineering & the Built Environment website.


IMPORTANT: Below are departmental letters about the offering of S1 & S3 and S2 & S4 subjects. As part of the phasing-out of the old National Diploma qualifications, some subjects will be repeated in semesters where they aren't usually offered, to assist students in completing their qualifications before they are phased out.


The Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, which are currently being reformed to respond to the demands of regional, national and global industry priorities in engineering education. Through a range of multi-disciplinary research institutes and centres, the Faculty aims to integrate its education and research programmes into a cohesive system, providing students with modern technology platforms for relevant and industry-responsive education, with a high degree of work-integrated learning. These platforms include the Product Life Cycle Management Competency Centre, providing state-of-the-art education in product design through to simulation and life-cycle management, the Advanced Manufacturing Technology Laboratory, and the Centre for Substation Automation and Energy Management Systems, to mention a few. Through this approach, the Faculty aims to emerge as a major driver of socio-economic change in the region.

Regional, National and international partnerships provide an essential mechanism for research and technology transfer, while at the same time developing opportunities for student international experience. The Foundry Technology Programme with RWTH Aachen University of Technology, and the Satellite Technology Programme under the French South Africa Technology Initiative, amongst others, are high impact examples of such partnerships. Exchange programmes, such as those with Shanghai Dian Ji University and De Haagse Hogeschool, provide students with opportunities to participate in collaborative technology projects while developing multicultural and global perspectives.

As part of a University of Technology, our mandate requires participation in community-based and SME projects, with a strong emphasis on commercialisation, providing a platform for technology transfer and spin-off technology enterprises. In this way, we provide our students and researchers with opportunities to engage at the highest level of engineering and continue to impact on the development of high-end engineering skills as a basis for industrial competitiveness.