The institution remains in strict lockdown level 3 mode, students (including prospective first-year students and their guardians) are urged not to travel to campuses for face-to-face assistance from staff. For more information click here

For more information   Click here >>>

Research Areas and Supervisors

Faculty of Applied Sciences


Departmental Representative



Prof Francis Lewu

Biotechnology and Consumer Science

Prof Irma Venter

Research in the department


Prof Ayesha Jacobs

Research areas

Conservation and Marine Sciences

Prof Reinette Snyman

Research projects


Environmental and Occupational Studies

Prof James Odendaal

Food Technology

Prof Jessy van Wyk


Horticultural Sciences

Prof Johannes Coetzee

Mathematics and Physics

Dr Otolorin Osibote

Faculty of Business & Management Sciences


Departmental Representative


Entrepreneurship and Business Management

Dr R Tengeh

Graduate Centre for Management

Dr D Onojaefe

Hotel School, Granger Bay Campus

Dr T Nyathela

Human Resource Management

Dr B Rust

Management Accounting

Dr P Kamala

Management and Project Management

Dr L Jowah


Dr R Duffett

Office Management & Technology

Dr S Hollis-Turner

Operations Management

Dr B W Yan

Public Administration & Governance

Dr Stan Cronje

Retail Business Management

Mr Maphelo Malgas

Sports Management

Dr S Taliep

Tourism & Events Management

Dr B Manners

Centre for Tourism Research in Africa (CETRA)

Unit for Applied Economics

Mr E van Doesburgh

Faculty of Education


Departmental Representative


Postgraduate Studies and Research

Prof Petrusa du Toit

Research and Postgraduate Studies

Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment


Departmental Representative


Chemical Engineering

Dr Oluwaseun Oyekola

Research areas

Civil Engineering and Surveying

Prof Veruscha Fester

Flow Process Research Centre (FPRC)

Construction Management and Quantity Surveying

Dr Julius Fapohunda

Research areas

Electrical Engineering

Dr Atanda Raji

Centre for Distributed Power & Electronic Systems (CDPES)

Centre for Instrumentation Research (CIR)

Centre for Power Systems Research (CPSR)

Centre for Real-Time Distributed Systems (CRTDS)

Centre for Substation Automation and Energy Management Systems (CSAEMS)

French South African Institute of Technology (F'SATI)

Quantum Physics Research Group

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Prof Stephen Bosman

Mechanical Engineering

Prof Graeme Oliver

Research areas

Faculty of Health & Wellness Sciences


Departmental Representative


Biomedical Sciences

Dr Samantha Meyer

Oxidative Stress Research Centre

Dental Technology Mr Abduraghman Latief

Emergency Medical Care

Mr Benjamin de Waal

Medical Imaging and Therapeutic Sciences

Mrs Ferial Isaacs

Postgraduate studies


Dr Dirk Bester

Ophthalmic Sciences

Prof Peter Clarke-Farr

Wellness Sciences

Dr Dirk Bester

Faculty of Informatics & Design


Departmental Representative


Applied Design

Dr Alettia Chisin

Architecture Dr June Jordaan

Information Technology

Dr Justine Daramola

Website Attributes Research Centre (WARC)


Dr Blessing Makwambeni