Report any gender-based violence related incidents to the following numbers | 021 959 6550 | 021 959 6301 | 060 980 0286



The Secretariat is the administrative backbone of the Office of the Registrar and provides services to the University Council, and the committees of these bodies. These services include:

  • planning and coordinating the university’s management and governance meetings
  • managing and coordinating administrative aspects of committees, boards and forums to ensure smooth operation
  • providing secretariat services to the university’s committees, boards and forums, such as the preparation and distribution of agendas and supporting documentation, and production of minutes of meetings
  • providing procedural advice and guidance during meetings to ensure protocol is adhered to
  • ensuring that resolutions taken at meetings are communicated and followed through according to protocol
  • distributing action memoranda to ensure that actions decided upon in meetings are followed through according to delegated authority levels
  • contributing to the establishment of an efficient communications network to facilitate operations

The unit is also tasked with record keeping, document management and providing information to stakeholders.


Name and designation
Contact details
Mr Athi Majija
Tel: +27 21 953 8688
Ms Lindie Jantjies
Senior Committee Officer
Tel: +27 21 959 6749
Ms Tania George
Committee Officer
Tel: +27 21 959 5641
Ms Sharon Claudia Riester
Committee Officer
Tel: +27 21 959 6820
Ms Yolande Matthews
Committee Officer
Tel: +27 21 953 8689
Ms Mertrude Davids
Committee Officer
Tel: +27 21 953 8684
Ms Nomfanelo Mashiya
Tel: +27 21 959 6626
Ms Dorian Aploon
Tel: +27 21 953 8687

The offices of the Secretariat are located in the Council wing, 1st Floor, Administration Building, Bellville Campus.