Report any gender-based violence related incidents to the following numbers | 021 959 6550 | 021 959 6301 | 060 980 0286

For more information   Click here >>>

For more information and to donate   Click here >>>


Research Directorate

The Research Directorate is a strategic department of CPUT charged with executing one of the three main functions of a university, namely research and innovation management.

The Research Directorate plays an important role in assisting CPUT to establish itself as a University of Technology (UoT) that pursues excellence in research, in striving to be at the heart of technology and innovation in Africa.

The vision of the Research Directorate is to create an enabling environment for CPUT to achieve its research and innovation goals. Its mission is to promote research, innovation and uptake for social development.

The Research Directorate executes its mandate by, inter alia, providing researchers with support through research grants management, research finance administration, publications management, application of the Research and Information Management System (RIMS), research capacity development, and recognition of research excellence by means of annual research awards in areas such as publication, postgraduate supervision and industry funding.

With Prof Dina Burger as the Director, the Research Directorate carries out its functions within the following sections:


This section provides administrative support to the Director and Research Directorate staff.

Secretary: Ms Edwina Pedro

Research Finance

The Research Finance section manages the Directorate’s budget and deals with claims from researchers who have been awarded research grants, scholarships linked to research grants, and grants for conference attendance.

Coordinator: Ms Amelia Rorwana

Administrators: Ms Shafeeqa Dramat, Ms Phatiswa Swaartbooi, Mr Marvin la Meyer


The Research Grants section manages CPUT research grants such as the University Research Fund (URF), the Academic Exchange Programme and ConfCom, as well as various National Research Foundation (NRF) grants. This section also handles applications for NRF rating, arranges grants application workshops and maintains the Grants section on the Research Directorate website.

Manager: Ms Tania Holmes-Watts

Coordinator: Ms Pumza Makaula


This section manages the annual submission of accredited research publications to the DHET to claim research subsidy. It also records and publicises the research, innovation and uptake performance of the CPUT research community through the Annual Research Report. This section also arranges workshops in research writing and publication, maintains the Publications section on the Research Directorate website, and arranges the annual CPUT Research and Innovation Day.

Coordinator: Ms Lara Lee Smith


CPUT is a member of the RIMS Consortium, a web-based system initiated by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and hosted by the NRF. The purpose of RIMS is to provide a common application platform to support research processes. In the Research Directorate the RIMS section is tasked with keeping up-to-date records, assisting the Publications section with the capturing of publications output, and assisting the Grants section with research proposal development and proposal tracking.

Coordinator: Ms Luyolo Kamati

Research Capacity Development

This newly established section will play an important role in strengthening the research capacity of researchers in order to enhance research and innovation output, increase the number of NRF-rated researchers, and improve staff qualifications. It will be tasked with the development of a strategy and interventions to build research, innovation and uptake capacity at CPUT.

Manager: vacant

Contact us

Secretary to the Director
Edwina Pedro
Tel: +27 21 460 3128
Office: Room 2.8, Administration Building, Cape Town
Postal address: PO Box 652, Cape Town, 8000

Click on ‘Staff’ in the column on the left to get the contact details of other staff members.