Report any gender-based violence related incidents to the following numbers | 021 959 6550 | 021 959 6301 | 060 980 0286

For more information   Click here >>>

For more information and to donate   Click here >>>

/

Research Entities

Over and above the formal university structures, it has become international best practice to establish other formal academic structures to promote research, technology transfer, non-formal teaching and community service and outreach programmes. These structures form a hub of centres of excellence in research and teaching at universities. In the CPUT context, a major purpose of these structures is to expand and enhance the research, non-formal teaching, community service and outreach opportunities of an engaged university in ways that are not readily possible within faculties.

In addition, CPUT research entities are designed to provide the infrastructure that harnesses some of the unique characteristics of a University of Technology.  The entities contribute to the development of collaborative strategies that enable CPUT to carry out its education, research and service missions in a productive and resource-efficient way. The university’s research strategy aligns these research entities to our research focus areas and research chairs (see table below). Whilst CPUT research institutes are institutional and cross-faculty in support of the trans-disciplinary approach, research entities are hosted in faculties or academic departments.

The following research entities are active at CPUT:

Entity Name

Responsible Person

Research Focus Area

Research Chair

Research Institutes

Energy Institute

Prof MTE Khan

KhanT@cput.ac.za

Smart Energy

Prof MTE Khan

(Energy)

French South African Institute of Technology (F’SATI)

Prof RR Van Zyl

VanzylR@cput.ac.za

Space Science, Engineering and Technology

Research Chair in ISSTAA

Applied Microbial and Health Biotechnology Institute (AMHBI)

Prof JL Marnewick

marnewickj@cput.ac.za

Bio-economy and Biotechnology

Prof JL Marnewick

(Biotechnology)

Professional Education Research Institute (PERI)

Prof C Winberg

winbergc@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

Prof C Winberg

(Work Integrated Learning)

Research Centres

Africa Space Innovation Centre

Prof RR Van Zyl

VanzylR@cput.ac.za

Space Science, Engineering and Technology

Research Chair in ISSTAA

Cardiometabolic Health Research Centre

Prof T Matsha

matshat@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

Prof T Matsha

(Cardiometabolic Health)

Centre for Water Supply & Sanitation Research (CWSS)

Dr B Ncube

NcubeB@cput.ac.za

The Environment, Climate Change and Sustainability

Prof K Findlay

(Oceans Economy)

Centre for Substation Automation & Energy Management Systems (CSAEMS)

Prof R Tzoneva

tzonevar@cput.ac.za

Smart Energy

Prof MTE Khan

(Energy)

Centre for Real-Time Distributed Systems

Prof R Tzoneva

tzonevar@cput.ac.za

Smart Energy

Prof MTE Khan

(Energy)

Centre for Computational & Applied Technology Mechanics

Prof G Oliver

oliverg@cput.ac.za

Smart Energy

Prof MTE Khan

(Energy)

Centre for Distributed Power & Electronic Systems

Prof MTE Kahn

KhanT@cput.ac.za

 Smart Energy

Prof MTE Khan

(Energy)

Centre for Power Systems Research (CPSR)

Prof MTE Khan

KhanT@cput.ac.za

 Smart Energy

Prof MTE Khan

(Energy)

Centre for Tourism Research in Africa

 Ms M Silo

silom@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

Research Chair in Sustainable Tourism and Global Change

Computational & Applied Technologies Manufacturing

Prof G Oliver

oliverg@cput.ac.za

   

Centre for International Teacher Education

Prof Y Sayed

sayedy@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

Prof Y Sayed

(Teacher Education)

Centre for Sustainable Oceans

Prof K Findlay

findlayk@cput.ac.za

The Environment, Climate Change and Sustainability

Prof K Findlay

(Oceans Economy)

Flow Process Research Centre (FPRC)

Prof V Fester

festerv@cput.ac.za

   

Human Performance Laboratory

Prof S Davies

daviess@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

 

Literacy Development

Prof J Condy

condyj@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

Prof J Condy

(Literacy Development)

Product Lifecycle Management Competency Centre (PLMCC)

Dr S Bosman

bosmans@cput.ac.za

The Environment, Climate Change and Sustainability

 

Research Units

Crystal Engineering Unit

Prof M Wicht

wichtm@cput.ac.za

Bio-economy and biotechnology

Prof JL Marnewick

(Biotechnology)

Functional Foods Research Unit

Prof M Opperman

oppermanm@cput.ac.za

Bio-economy and Biotechnology

 

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

Prof JL Marnewick

(Biotechnology)

Research Groups

Bio-resource Engineering Research Group

Prof M Sheldon

sheldonm@cput.ac.za

Bio-economy and Biotechnology

Prof JL Marnewick

(Biotechnology)

Nanomaterials Group

Prof V Fester festerv@cput.ac.za & Dr M Chowdhury chowdhurym@cput.ac.za

 

 

Leadership

Prof K Jooste

joosteka@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

 

HIV Self-Management

Dr R Modeste

mariemodester@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

 

Phytotherapy Research Group

Dr S Meyer

meyers@cput.ac.za

Bio-economy and Biotechnology

Prof JL Marnewick

(Biotechnology)

Phytomedicine & Phytochemistry

Prof O Oguntibeju

oguntibejuo@cput.ac.za

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

Prof JL Marnewick

(Biotechnology)

Environmental Chemistry, Toxicology and Remediation

Prof J Odendaal

odendaalj@cput.ac.za

The Environment, Climate Change and Sustainability

 

Quantum Physics Research Group

Dr K. Govender
govenderk@cput.ac.za

Space Science, Engineering and Technology

Research Chair in ISSTAA

Technology Stations

Clothing and Textiles Technology Station

Mr S Isaacs

isaacssh@cput.ac.za

Space Science, Engineering and Technology

Research Chair in ISSTAA

Adaptronics Advanced Manufacturing Technology Laboratory

Prof O Philander

philandero@cput.ac.za

Space Science, Engineering and Technology

Research Chair in ISSTAA

AgriFood Technology Station

Mr L Dolley

dolleyl@cput.ac.za

Bio-economy and Biotechnology

 

Human, Health and Social Dynamics

Prof JL Marnewick

(Biotechnology)

 

Contact: Ms Hunadi Mokgalaka, Manager Research Uptake - mokgalakah@cput.ac.za