The institution remains in strict lockdown level 3 mode, students (including prospective first-year students and their guardians) are urged not to travel to campuses for face-to-face assistance from staff. For more information click here

For more information   Click here >>>


The Council is the governing body of the University and is constituted of members appointed by the Minister of Education as well as representatives from the following bodies:

  • Senate
  • SRC
  • Academic and non-academic staff
  • The Convocation

Roles and responsibilities

The Council's responsibilities are subject to the Higher Education Act of 1997 and the CPUT Statute of May 2010.

The Council

  • Makes Rules for the institution,
  • Establishes Council committees and determines the functions and composition of each committee,
  • Establishes, in consultation with the senate, joint committees of the council and the senate to perform functions which are common to the council and senate,
  • Appoints all employees of the institution, but in the case of academic appointments, it may do so after consulting senate,
  • Determines the student admission policy of the institution, after consultation with the senate,
  • Determines, with the approval of the senate, the entrance requirements in respect of particular higher education programmes, the number of students who may be admitted for a particular higher education programme and the manner of their selection, and the minimum requirements for readmission to study at the institution,
  • May, with the approval of the senate, refuse readmission to a student who fails to satisfy the minimum requirements for readmission, and
  • Determines and provides student support services after consultation with the SRC.

(Source: CPUT Statute:  Government Gazette, No. 33202.  Republic of South Africa)

Council members

Chairperson Mapoma, Zuko (Adv) LLM (UNISA) MBA (UCT) Member of the Cape Town Bar
Deputy Chairperson  Platzky, Laurine (Dr) PhD (ISS, Erasmus University) Associate Professor: University of Cape Town
Ministerial Appointees Rorisang Lebethe (Ms) BCom Accounting (Wits) EXECUTIVE Finance Manager, Edcon
  Easthorpe, Reynold (Mr) BCom (UNISA) Business Owner: Shefa Enterprises/ Express Employment
  Ngxiza, Sonwabile (Mr) MPA (UCT) Research and Content Support – Office of the Deputy Speaker, Parliament (RSA)
  Noviwe, Qegu (Ms) MSc. City Planning (Potchefstroom University) Senior Associate Consultant: Mamphele Development Planners
Convocation Representatives Matiwane, Saziso (Mr)  Honours Degree Public Admin (MANCOSA) Regulatory Compliance Auditor Western Cape Gambling and Racing Board
  Nyangiwe, Athenkosi (Mr) BA Hons (UWC) Facilities Administrator (NSFAS) 
Council Appointees Hadebe, Bheki (Mr) BTech (CPUT) MA (UNISA), Advanced Business Programme (DUT) Member of Parliament (RSA)
  Devcharran, Nirvani (Ms) Executive Director: Pearson Institute
  Gumbi, Dumisani (Mr) LLM (UCT) Group IT Governance Architect: Sanlam Group
  Groenewald, Liezl (Ms) MA (Wits) Manager: Organisational Ethics - The Ethics Institute
  Dondashe, Nomveliso (Ms) B.Com Honours (Industrial Psychology) (UWC) Provincial HR Business Partner/ HR Ops
  Son, Grant (Dr) PhD (University of Stellenbosch) CEO: Batho Phahameng Engineering and Consulting
CEO: Founder and Chairman - I Am Black Gold
  Maseko, Joseph Mandla (Prof) PhD (Somerset University UK) Executive Chairperson of the National Consumer Tribunal
  Dilotsotlhe, Kelebogile (Ms) M.Ed (Science Education) (Potchefstroom University) cum laude  
City of Cape Town Appointee Ah-Sing, Fabian (Mr) BTech (CPUT) Councillor: City of Cape Town
Donor Representative Yach, Dianna (Aprof) LLM (University of London) Chairperson: Mauerberger Foundation Fund [MFF]
Provincial Government Appointee Platzky, Laurine (Dr) PhD (ISS, Erasmus University) Associate Professor: University of Cape Town
Executive Management Nhlapo, Chris (Prof) PhD (Potchefstroom University) Vice-Chancellor
  Balkaran, Rishidaw (Prof) PhD Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Teaching and Learning
  Phaho, David (Dr) PhD  Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research, Technology Innovation and Partnerships (RTIP)
Senate Representatives Kioko, Joseph (Prof) PhD (University of Natal) Acting Dean: Faculty of Applied Sciences
  Sosibo, Zilungile (Aprof) PhD (Northern Illinois University) Senior lecturer, CPUT
Academic Representatives Helsby, Claire (Ms) MCom (University of Stellenbosch) Lecturer, CPUT
  Msomi, Velaphi (Dr) PhD (CPUT)  
Non-academic Representatives Kunene, Thembile (Mr) BA (UWC) Debtors Clerk, CPUT
  Nkwana, Sello (Mr) BTech (CPUT) Manager: End-User Computing, CPUT
Student Representatives Swartbooi, Phinda (Ms)  CSRC: President
  Ganyile, Nonele (Ms) CSRC: Secretary General


Last updated: 20 May 2019 (SD)